© Gargrave Agricultural and Horticultural Society Ltd. 2021
Made with Xara Our Main Sponsor
FELL RACE MARSHALL: JOHN THOMPSON – 01756 749235 Fell Race Entrants are reminded that Entries are taken on the day and that no Entry Fee is charged for the Fell Races. Admission to the Show will be charged at the Gate to ALL Fell Race  competitors where applicable. 5 Fell Races (starting from the Main Ring at 12.00:) Under 9 (Prize Money £23); Under 12 (Prize Money £33); Under 14 (Prize Money £33); Under 17 (Prize Money £47); Senior (Silentnight Trophy, Prize Money £137). THE D. McKELL TROPHY: to be awarded to the highest placed local male competitor from any of the five sections. THE SILENTNIGHT TROPHY: to be awarded to the highest placed senior male competitor. THE JACK WEATHERILL TROPHY: to be awarded to the highest placed local female competitor from any of the five sections. 2019 Gargrave Show Fell Race Report Gargrave show fell races were hailed as a great success on Saturday despite the earlier worries over ground conditions created by the incessant rainfall on Friday.  The height and flow of Eshton beck was closely monitored and the organisers took the decision very early on Saturday morning to divert the Under Nines and Twelves race away from the fast flowing river crossing, creating instead a flatter course more comparable to a cross country race. Barlick Fell runner Isaac Reeday from Hetton finished strongly to take first place in the Under Nines race, whilst seven year old Robert Shuttleworth from Gargrave was in second place and claimed not only the first local prize but the McKell shield for the highest placed male competitor from any category.  Mia McGoldrick from Giggleswick continued her fine form of recent wins carrying on a family tradition as her late maternal Grandma Karen Slater still holds the senior ladies race record at Gargrave show.       Read more…….. (The report and photo below are provided courtesy of Caroline Thompson.)
2019 Senior Race winners: 17 year old Katie Atkinson & 18 year old Joe Hudson both members of Keighley and Craven AC